Croke Park | GAA Museum & Tours | Exhibitions | Croke Park Timeline

Croke Park Timeline

The 'Croke Park Timeline' was launched at the GAA Museum In June 2009. Starting in 1864, the timeline takes museum visitors on a visual journey through the significant events and milestones of the stadium’s rich history.

There are some fascinating documents that remind us all of the huge social, cultural and sporting history behind the iconic stadium starting with a sepia toned map of “Butterly’s Field”. This 21 acre area of land ‘on the south side of Clonliffe Road in the parish of Saint George and County of Dublin’ that Alderman Maurice Butterly purchased back on April 16th 1864 is the current site of Croke Park Stadium.

Other early significant dates featuring on the timeline include March 15th 1896, which marked the first All-Ireland Football and Hurling Finals to be played at Jones’ Road, and the purchase of the site by the GAA in 1913, renaming it Croke Memorial Park.

A young 18 year old Michael O’Hehir made his first appearance in Croke Park as a commentator on 21st August 1938. The date also marked the official opening of the Cusack Stand, a two tier stand which was then the largest of its kind in Europe.

The stadium came full circle on March 14th 2005 when the complete re-development of Croke Park was officially unveiled with the opening of the new Nally and Hill 16 Terrace.

Non GAA events also feature, with images showing the huge hype and publicity around the July 19th 1972 meeting of Muhammad Ali and Al ‘Blue’ Lewis, as well as mention of the first historic first Rugby and Soccer matches in 2007, the Special Olympics in 2003 and U2’s numerous sell out shows since 1985.

Opening Hours
Monday – Saturday 09.30-17.00
Sunday/Bank Holiday 10.30-17.00