Croke Park | GAA Museum & Tours | Library & Archive | GAA Archive Collections | Leinster Provincial Council Minute Books

Leinster Provincial Council Minute Books

Reference code: GAA/LEN/01
Title: Leinster Provincial Council Minute Books
Covering Dates: 1915-1981
Level of Description: Item/Collection level
Extent: 8 volumes


Biographical history
The Leinster Provincial Council was formed in 1900 and administers the GAA throughout the twelve counties of Leinster; Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Offaly, Westmeath, Wexford and Wicklow.

The Provincial Convention is held, at least six weeks before the GAA Annual Congress, to consider audited accounts, motions and general Provincial activities. The Convention also elects the Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Treasurer, Secretary and PRO. Only motions carried at a County Convention may be submitted for consideration by the Provincial Convention. The Provincial Convention may make Bye-Laws, which shall become operative, when sanctioned by the Management Committee (Coiste Bainistí) on behalf of Central Council.

The Provincial Council consists of a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Treasurer, Secretary and two Representatives from each County, as elected by the Provincial Convention. The Provincial Council remains in office until the conclusion of the following Provincial Convention; meeting no less than four times per year. Subject to the overall jurisdiction of the Central Council, the functions of a Provincial Council include the management of the Provincial Hurling and Football Championships; all matters relating to the management and selection of its Inter-Provincial teams; the control of financial and all other affairs of the Association that are not under the jurisdiction of a County Committee; to carry out the duties of a suspended County Committee; to submit one motion to the Annual Congress; to publish an annual report on the state of the games and games development in the counties under its jurisdiction and to approve physical developments by Clubs and to recommend County Grounds Development to Central Council.

Content and Structure

Scope and Content
Minute books contain the meeting minutes of the Leinster Council, subsidiary committees and the Annual Provincial Conventions.

Topics of note recorded in the minute books include the reaction of the GAA to the Irish War of Independence and Civil War period including the organisation of ‘Gaelic Sunday’ throughout Leinster, the administration of the ban on members of the armed forces of Britain, the issue of members taking the oath of allegiance to the British Monarch etc; the purchase, maintenance and development of grounds and stadia (club, county and provincial grounds) throughout the Province; the administration of the various Accident Schemes throughout the Province; Leinster’s re-action to the 1938 removal of Dr Douglas Hyde, President of Ireland, as a Patron of the Association and the wider issue of the ban on ‘foreign games’; the GAA in Leinster during the Second World War (1939-1945); the acquisition of trophies; the relationship between the Leinster Council and the media; the relationship between the Leinster Council and the other Provincial Councils; the relationship between the Leinster Council and the various national schemes implemented by the Governing Body of the GAA (Central Council) including Central Council Grounds Board (Bord na bPáirc); the Commission on the Activities of the GAA; the Central Hurling etc and the reaction of the Leinster Council to the political trouble in the North of Ireland.

Conditions of Access and Use

Conditions governing access: Access is strictly by appointment only using the  
                                                        provided application form
Language:                                     English
Finding Aid:                                   Descriptive List